Team Pelfrey Completes First Oval Events of 2018 Season
 May 26, 2018| 
  • Team News
_16C7961 (1200x478)
INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. -- Memorial Day Weekend was a busy affair for Team Pelfrey, with its Indy Lights outfit competing at the famed Indianapolis Motor Speedway in the Freedom 100 race on Friday afternoon. Davey Hamilton Jr., son of Indianapolis 500 veteran Davey Hamilton, qualified seventh and finished seventh in a race that saw over 100 overtakes for position and the top five separated by just three tenths of a second.
Just a few miles west and mere hours later, Team Pelfrey was out in force at the Carb Night Classic at Lucas Oil Raceway for the Pro Mazda Championship Presented by Cooper Tires and the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship Powered by Mazda. Sting Ray Robb continued his form as of late, charging through from eighth to end up fifth, chasing down the podium finishers in the latter part of the race. Julian van der Watt enjoyed an initially successful oval debut in USF2000, qualifying inside the top 10 and looking set for another strong finish until an unfortunate incident took him out of contention. Bruna Tomaselli and Kyle Dupell both completed their oval debuts on the Mazda Road to Indy with composed drives and making significant gains upon their starting positions.
Davey Hamilton Jr. (No. 2 Ackerman St. Louis/Trench Shoring/Simpson Properties/Gap Guard/Team Pelfrey Indy Lights)
: 7th
Race: 7th

“Racing in the Freedom 100 was a great learning opportunity. Unfortunately, I got completely sideways coming out of Turn Two early on in the race, which was a scary moment because I didn’t want to wreck the car. The balance wasn’t right and I didn’t want to fool with it. We had a good car all week, I just wish I would have had a bit more preparation in the dirty air and in traffic. All in all, it was really great working with Team Pelfrey, and I can’t thank my sponsors enough. It was incredible to run at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. First of many races, for sure!”

About Team Pelfrey:
Team Pelfrey’s winning heritage dates back to 2011, initially fielding cars in the ultra-competitive Pro Mazda Championship on the Mazda Road to Indy. Since then, Team Pelfrey has won Pro Mazda Championship titles in 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016 and 2017. The team’s winning pedigree has since expanded to the F1600 Championship, USF2000 Championship and Indy Lights series, becoming the first team to compete on all rungs of the Mazda Road to Indy Ladder. To date, the team has achieved 96 race wins, 207 podium finishes and nine championships.
  • IP2K Simmetric RTD
    • Team News
  • Indy 2
    • Series News
  • Askew Texas
    • Series News
  • Lights Iowa eseries
    • Series News
  • Banner
    • Series News