Ryan Norman Returns to Andretti Autosport in 2019
 November 12, 2018| 
  • Team News

INDIANAPOLIS, IND. - Finishing the 2018 season fourth in the championship, 20-year old Ryan Norman is back with Andretti Autosport and will chase the 2019 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires championship as a seasoned veteran in the field.

“I’m really excited to finally make it official that I’ll be returning to Andretti Autosport for my third season competing in Indy Lights," said Norman. “We’ve built a solid foundation over the past two years and I’m ready to fight for wins, podiums and ultimately the championship, with such a great group of people who have become like a family to me.” 

Norman melded the competitive pieces together and showed remarkable strides during the second stint of the 2018 season – capturing three of his four total podiums, claiming the pole position at the season finale in Portland and chasing the checkered flag all the way to his first victory at Gateway Motorsports Park.   

“We’re very happy that Ryan is rejoining us for his third season of Indy Lights,” said Andretti Autosport President, JF Thormann. “We were pleased with his performance this past season, and his potential as a driver began to really shine after his win at Gateway [Motorsports Park]. He’s right on track with his progression plan put together by his engineering team, and we feel strongly that he has what it takes to be a contender for the 2019 championship.”  

Opening weekend for the 2019 Indy Lights season kicks off on the streets of St. Petersburgh, Florida. The field of young, talented drivers will chase the checkered flag twice, with the green flag waving for Race 1 on Saturday, March 9 followed by Race 2 held on Sunday, March 10. 

About Andretti Autosport
Based in Indianapolis and led by racing legend Michael Andretti, Andretti Autosport boasts a wide racing portfolio rooted in tradition and designed for success.  

Together with Andretti Formula E and Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross, Andretti Autosport fields multiple entries in the IndyCar Series and Indy Lights, along with entries in the FIA Formula E Championship and Americas Rallycross competition. Additionally, the team competes as Walkinshaw Andretti United in the Australian Supercars category through partnership with Walkinshaw Racing and United Autosports.  

The global racing enterprise boasts four IndyCar Series championships (2004, 2005, 2007, 2012), three Indy Lights titles (2008, 2009, 2018), one Pro Mazda championship (2013) and one USF2000 championship (2010) and has captured victory five times at the famed Indianapolis 500-Mile Race (2005, 2007, 2014, 2016, 2017). Additionally, the team holds two X Games Gold Medals and four Rallycross championship (2015, 2016, 2017, 2018).  

  • Lights Iowa eseries
    • Series News
  • Banner
    • Series News
  • Lights Sched 2020
    • Series News
  • Lights WGI ESERIES Banner
    • Series News
  • Banner
    • Series News