Kaiser Named to AARWBA All-America Team
 January 3, 2018| 
  • Series News
Kaiser AARWBA 2017
Add another honor to the list for 2017 Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires champion Kyle Kaiser, who was recently named to the American Auto Racing Writers and Broadcasters Association All-America Team.

Kaiser, 21, joins NHRA Mello Yello Top Fuel champion Brittany Force, Monster Energy NASCAR Cup champ Martin Truex Jr., Verizon IndyCar Series champ Josef Newgarden, IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar champs Ricky and Jordan Taylor, World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series champ Donny Schatz, and NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champ Christopher Bell. Force and Truex jointly earned the Jerry Titus Memorial Award “Driver of the Year” honors by garnering the most votes from the AARWBA members.

In his fourth season on the Mazda Road to Indy Presented by Cooper Tires, Kaiser captured the Indy Lights crown with a consistent season-long performance. Garnering three victories, three pole positions and eight total podiums in 16 races, Kaiser earned the title and the Mazda Scholarship valued at $1 million, which ensures entry into at least three Verizon IndyCar Series races in 2018, including the 102nd Indianapolis 500. Kaiser will take the next step to the top rung of the American open-wheel ladder with his championship-winning Juncos Racing team, and has announced a minimum four-race season.

“It’s amazing to be mentioned with all these other drivers,” said Kaiser. “To be on the same team with the IndyCar champion alone is incredible, but to be included with such an outstanding list of champions from all over the motorsports community is really an honor. 2017 was an incredible season for us and a great feat to win the Indy Lights title, and it’s good to be recognized for that accomplishment. But it was a team effort, so it’s not just for me but for all the guys at Juncos Racing who worked so hard and put together such a great season. We’ll be racing in the Verizon IndyCar Series this season because of this championship and testing starts in February. I’ll be in the car for the first time at the series official test at Phoenix and I’m very excited to get behind the wheel of an Indy car thanks to the Indy Lights championship.”

Founded in Indianapolis in 1955, AARWBA’s more than 400 members throughout the United States, Canada and Europe are dedicated to the sport of auto racing. The membership includes writers, photographers, broadcasters and other media-related professionals. Each year, AARWBA recognizes drivers from various racing series, with members voting on drivers within their participating categories of racing, with the top two from each category elected to the All-America team. The driver receiving the most votes is presented the "Jerry Titus Memorial Award™", which is AARWBA's "Driver of the Year" award. Jerry Titus was a member of AARWBA who was a motorsports journalist and a winning race driver.

  • Kirkwood Banner AA Announcement 2020
    • Team News
  • Lights Drivers at Daytona 2020
    • Series News
  • Web Banner
    • Series News
  • SimMetric 1 Web
    • Series News
  • HMD Turtle Plastics 2020
    • Team News