Hall of Fame
  • Rinus Indy Quali Banner
    • Series News
  • IP2K Simmetric RTD
    • Team News
  • Indy 2
    • Series News
  • Askew Texas
    • Series News
  • Lights Iowa eseries
    • Series News

When Andersen Promotions launched and operated the USF2000 championship from 1990 to 2006, the company created the USF2000 Hall of Fame to recognize the outstanding accomplishments of its graduates after competing in the series, rather than in it. The Hall of Fame was resurrected within the Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship in 2012, and expanded to include the Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires in 2013 and Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires in 2014.

Each recipient is acknowledged at the season-ending awards banquet and presented with a plaque.

Road to Indy Hall of Fame Inductees

Indy Lights Presented by Cooper Tires


Ed Carpenter (inducted 2019)

Won won the first Freedom 100 at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and has gone on to become a successful driver and team owner in the NTT IndyCar Series.

 Jon Beekhuis

Jon Beekhuis (inducted 2018)

The 1988 Indy Lights champion who went on to a highly successful and long career in motorsports broadcasting and is currently the IndyCar analyst for NBCSN.


Bryan Herta (inducted 2017)

After dominating the 1993 championship, went on to achieve success in the NTT IndyCar Series as both a driver and, more recently, a Indianapolis 500-winning team owner


U.E. "Pat" Patrick (inducted 2016)

Founded the championship in 1986 and was inducted on the series' 30th anniversary


Roger Bailey (inducted 2016)

Ran the series for the better part of 25 years and was inducted on the series' 30th anniversary


Josef Newgarden (inducted 2015)

The 2011 Indy Lights champion and 2017 NTT IndyCar Series champion


Paul Tracy (inducted 2015)

Dominated the 1990 championship, then went on to have a successful broadcasting career with NBC Sports


Tony Kanaan (inducted 2014)

The 1997 champion, NTT IndyCar Series title holder and Indianapolis 500 race winner


Helio Castroneves (inducted 2014) 

The 1997 championship runner-up who has three Indianapolis 500 wins to his credit


Scott Dixon (inducted 2014) 

The 2000 champion who is a five-time NTT IndyCar Series champion and Indianapolis 500 race winner



Indy Pro 2000 Championship Presented by Cooper Tires



Gerardo Bonilla (inducted 2019)

A race winner in the 2006 championship, who went on to become a successful driver coach and is now the Director of Operations at the Lucas Oil School of Racing


Connor De Phillippi (inducted 2018)

A seven-time series winner who has gone on to a highly successful sports car career and is currently a factory BMW driver for Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing 


Anders Krohn (inducted 2017)

2010 runner up, who went on to a successful broadcasting career with NBC Sports Network at the IndyCar Radio Network 


Peter Dempsey (inducted 2016)

Who won nine races over the course of the 2008/2009 seasons


Chuck West (inducted 2016)

The 1992 champion who established World Speed Motorsports


Conor Daly (inducted 2015) 

Winner of the 2010 championship


Guy Cosmo (inducted 2015)

The 2002 champion


James Hinchcliffe (inducted 2014)

Finished third in the 2005 season with three wins and is a multiple race winner in the NTT IndyCar Series


Dane Cameron (inducted 2014)

The 2007 champion who is an accomplished sports car driver and currently drives for Penske Racing in the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship


Graham Rahal (inducted 2014)

The youngest driver to win a series race in 2005 at the age of 16, he is a race winner in the NTT IndyCar Series as well as sports cars


Jack Hawksworth (inducted 2014)

Won the 2012 championship with eight wins and ended his first season in the NTT IndyCar Series with one top-five and five top-10 finishes


Joey Hand (inducted 2013)

The 1999 champion who has become a
race-winning and championship-winning sports car driver


Tristan Vautier (inducted 2013)

The 2011 champion who captured the Indy Lights title the following year to become the first driver to win two consecutive championships on the Road to Indy


Michael McDowell (inducted 2013)

The 2004 champion who has been competing successfully in the NASCAR ranks since 2008


Joel Miller (inducted 2013)

The 2008 vice champion whose success in sports cars includes the 2013 GRAND-AM Rookie of the Year title


Cooper Tires USF2000 Championship


Augie Pabst (inducted 2019)

Who made 22 starts in USF2000 in 1996 and 1997 – and has gone on to become a successful team owner and valued member of the Road to Indy family.

 Jay Howard

Jay Howard (inducted 2018)

The 2005 USF2000 champion who scored 10 wins in 14 starts and is tied for fourth-place in the history books for the most USF2000 wins – and now operates his own successful race team and driver development ladder.


Bobby Oergel (inducted 2017)

Twice finished in the top 10 of the USF2000 standings as a driver but is better known as the team principal of PR1/Mathiasen Motorsports


Spencer Pigot (inducted 2016)

Finished second in the title chase in 2011 and 2012 (and went on to win the 2014 Indy Pro 2000 and 2015 Indy Lights titles). Lies third on the all-time  wins list


Tonis Kasemets (inducted 2016)

A race winning driver in USF2000 in the late 1990s and 2000s, now a successful driver coach


Jonathan Bomarito (inducted 2015)

The 2003 champion who is currently a factory driver for Mazda  



Lawson Aschenbach (inducted 2015)

Won the 2002 "Road to Indy" oval track crown, currently drives in the IMSA WeatherTech SportsCar Championship


JR Hildebrand (inducted 2014)

The 2006 champion and Indianapolis 500 Rookie of the Year


Anthony Lazzaro (inducted 2014)

Accomplished sports car driver who won the Night Before the 500 and Hooter's Cup F2000 Series in 1994


Otmar Szafnauer (inducted 2013)

A 1993/1994 graduate who is the Chief Operating Officer at the Sahara Force India F1 Team


Charlie Kimball (inducted 2013)

The 2003 graduate is the first licensed driver with diabetes to win an NTT IndyCar Series race


Duncan Dayton (inducted 2012)

A 1998 graduate who raced endurance sports cars before developing his team, Patron Highcroft Racing, to compete in the ALMS and continues to race vintage cars


Sam Hornish Jr. (inducted 2012)

The 1998 graduate won the 2006 Indy 500 and is a three-time NTT IndyCar Series champion [2001, 2002 and 2006] who currently drives  in NASCAR


Andy Lally (inducted 2012)

A graduate in 2000 and accomplished sports car driver who currently drives for Magnus Racing in the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship


Bryan Sellers (inducted 2012)

The 2002 champion is a sports car driver in the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship


Chris Simmons (inducted 2012)

The 1992/1993 East Coast champion is an Indianapolis 500 winner and NTT IndyCar Series champion as engineer with Target/Chip Ganassi Racing


Dan Wheldon (inducted 2012)

The 1999 champion was a 2005 and 2011 Indy 500 Winner and 2005 NTT IndyCar Series Champion


The Original USF2000 Hall of Fame 


       Sam Schmidt                                Buddy Rice                                         Greg Ray

1995 graduate; owner of         1997 graduate; won the                1992 graduate;  won 1999

the most successful team        2004 Indianapolis and 2009         Indy Racing League title

in Indy Lights history                Rolex 24 At Daytona


      Greg Moore                              Robby McGehee                                   Steve Knapp

1992 graduate; won the            1998 graduate; Indy 500             1996 graduate; Indy 500

1995 Indy Lights title                 Rookie of the Year in '99              Rookie of the Year in '98


    Memo Gidley                                 Alex Barron

1995 graduate; podium            1996 graduate; won 1997

finisher in Champ Car for         Atlantic Championship

Target/Ganassi Racing